Symposia Titles

Submission of symposium titles has now closed. Should delegates wish to contribute papers to any of the below symposia you are requested to contact the convenors directly.

Advances in Afrotropical dipterology
Burgert S. Muller & Ashley H. Kirk-Spriggs
burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za

Diptera of Madagascar – historical biogeography and biodiversity
Mike Irwin & Rin’ha Harin’Hala
meirwin@illinois.edu

Advances in Neotropical dipterology
Claudio J.B. de Carvalho
cjbcarva@gmail.com

Flies in time – how fossils change our understanding of Diptera evolution
Vladimir Blagoderov
V.Blagoderov@nms.ac.uk

Vectors of human disease, biology and environment
Shüné Oliver
shuneo@nicd.ac.za

Veterinary Diptera as vectors of disease
Karien Labuschagne
labuschagnek@arc.agric.za

Tsetse population dynamics and climate change forecasting
John Terblanche & John Hargrove
jst@sun.ac.za

Forensic dipterology
Martin Villet & Kirstin Williams
m.villet@ru.ac.za

Tephritoidea – applied research and taxonomy
Minette Karsten, Olivia Reynolds & Marc De Meyer
minettek@sun.ac.za

The importance of Diptera in plant-pollinator networks
Kurt Jordaens
kurt.jordaens@africamuseum.be

Diptera interactions with amphibians
Gunnar Mikalsen Kvifte
gkvifte@purdue.edu

Biodiversity surveys and conservation of Diptera
Marc Pollet
mpollet.doli@gmail.com

Morphological character systems in lower Diptera
Gregory Curler
gcurler@gmail.com

Morphological tools, techniques and trees
Torsten Dikow & John Hash
hashjm@si.edu

Calyptrate evolution and diversity
Pierfilippo Cerretti, Thomas Pape & John Stireman
pierfilippo.cerretti@uniroma1.it

Advances in Diptera phylogenomics
Jessica P. Gillung & Keith M. Bayless
jpg.bio@gmail.com

Too many species, too little time: fresh approaches to “open-ended” genera
Daniel Bickel & Emily Hartop
dan.bickel@austmus.gov.au

Systematics and ecology of Culicomorpha
Leonardo H. Gil-Azevedo & Douglas C. Currie
lhgazevedo@gmail.com

Systematics and ecology of Bibionomorpha
Chris Borkent
chris.borkent@gmail.com

Systematics and ecology of Empidoidea
Bradley Sinclair & Jeffrey Cumming
bradley.sinclair@inspection.gc.ca

Taxonomy and ecology of Ceratopogonidae
Daniel L. Kline
dan.kline@ars.usda.gov

Taxonomy and systematics of lower Brachycera
Bryan D. Lessard
bryan.lessard@csiro.au

Taxonomy and phylogeny of Asilidae – honouring 40 years of Afrotropical research by Jason Londt
Torsten Dikow
DikowT@si.edu

Systematics and taxonomy of lower Cyclorrhapha
Andrew D. Young
adyoung@gmail.com

Developments in acalyptrate dipterology
John Ismay, Stephen Gaimari & Barbara Ismay
schultmay@insectsrus.co.uk; stephen.gaimari@cdfa.ca.gov