Symposia Titles

Submission of symposium titles has now closed. Should delegates wish to contribute papers to any of the below symposia you are requested to contact the convenors directly.

Advances in Afrotropical dipterology
Burgert S. Muller & Ashley H. Kirk-Spriggs
burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za
Symposium call (PDF)

Diptera of Madagascar – historical biogeography and biodiversity
Mike Irwin & Rin’ha Harin’Hala
meirwin@illinois.edu
Symposium call (PDF)

Advances in Neotropical dipterology
Márcia S. Couri & Carlos J.E. Lamas
courimarcia@gmail.com

Flies in time – how fossils change our understanding of Diptera evolution
Vladimir Blagoderov & Victor Baranov
V.Blagoderov@nms.ac.uk
Symposium call (PDF)

Vectors of human disease, biology and environment
Shüné Oliver
shuneo@nicd.ac.za
Symposium call (PDF)

Forensic dipterology
Martin Villet & Kirstin Williams
m.villet@ru.ac.za
Symposium call (PDF)

Tephritoidea – applied research and taxonomy
Minette Karsten, Olivia Reynolds & Marc De Meyer
minettek@sun.ac.za

The importance of Diptera in plant-pollinator networks
Kurt Jordaens
kurt.jordaens@africamuseum.be

Diptera interactions with amphibians
Gunnar Mikalsen Kvifte & Ximena Bernal
gkvifte@purdue.edu
Symposium call (PDF)

Biodiversity surveys and conservation of Diptera
Marc Pollet
mpollet.doli@gmail.com
Symposium call (PDF)

Morphological character systems in Diptera
Gregory Curler & John Hash
gcurler@gmail.com
Symposium call (PDF)

Biodiversity informatics of Diptera
John Midgley & Burgert Muller
jmidgley@nmsa.org.za; burgert.muller@nasmus.co.za
Symposium call (PDF)

Calyptrate evolution and diversity
Pierfilippo Cerretti, Thomas Pape & John Stireman
pierfilippo.cerretti@uniroma1.it

Advances in Diptera phylogenomics
Jessica P. Gillung & Keith M. Bayless
jpg.bio@gmail.com

Too many species, too little time: fresh approaches to “open-ended” genera
Daniel Bickel & Emily Hartop
dan.bickel@austmus.gov.au

Systematics and ecology of Culicomorpha
Leonardo H. Gil-Azevedo & Douglas C. Currie
lhgazevedo@gmail.com

Systematics and ecology of Bibionomorpha
Chris Borkent & Sarah Oliveira
chris.borkent@gmail.com
Symposium call (PDF)

Systematics and ecology of Empidoidea
Bradley Sinclair & Jeffrey Cumming
bradley.sinclair@inspection.gc.ca
Symposium call (PDF)

Ecology and behaviour of biting flies
Daniel L. Kline & Jerry Hogsette
dan.kline@ars.usda.gov
Symposium call (PDF)

Taxonomy and systematics of lower Brachycera
Bryan D. Lessard
bryan.lessard@csiro.au
Symposium call (PDF)

Taxonomy and phylogeny of Asilidae – honouring 40 years of Afrotropical research by Jason Londt
Torsten Dikow
DikowT@si.edu

Systematics and taxonomy of lower Cyclorrhapha
Andrew D. Young
adyoung@gmail.com

Developments in acalyptrate dipterology
John Ismay, Stephen Gaimari & Barbara Ismay
schultmay@insectsrus.co.uk; stephen.gaimari@cdfa.ca.gov
Symposium call (PDF)